Now Reading
Central Superior Services (CSS) Full Guide

Central Superior Services (CSS) Full Guide

by GotitJanuary 19, 2019

1   What is Central Superior Services (CSS)? 

Central Superior Services (CSS) Full Guide

Central Superior Services (CSS) Full Guide

The Public Service Commission or Central Superior Services (CSS) was set up for the first time in British India in 1926. After independence, the Commission was established in Pakistan in 1947 under the provision of Government of India Act, 1935. At present, the commission is functioning under article 242 of the constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan. It has been provided autonomy under the Rules of Business, 1973 and FPSC Regulations, 1978 in its working. The Commission has also been given administrative as well as, to some extent, financial autonomy to perform its functions independently.

2.   Who is eligible to appear for the exam of Central Superior Services (CSS)? 

To apply for CSS Examination, a candidate should be;

  • A citizen of Pakistan.
  • Must hold at least a Bachelors Degree with the second division in any Faculty/Discipline from one of the Pakistani Universities or an equivalent degree or comparable educational qualifications of a foreign University.
  • No candidate who has obtained a Third Division (or ‘D’ grade where the result is declared under Semester System) in his Bachelor’s Degree will be eligible for the Examination except in cases where he/she has obtained a higher Division in Master’s Degree.
  • The age limit for admission in CSS Examination is 21-30 years, which is relaxable up to 2 years for those who are already in Government Service and have completed 2 years service. The relaxation is also available to candidates belonging to certain remote areas as defined by Government.

3.   Test Process Of Central Superior Services (CSS) 

  1. Written Test
  2. Psychological Test
  3. Medical Test
  4. Viva Voce / Interview

4.   Examination / Written Test 

  1. Compulsory Subjects (600 marks)
  2. Optional Subjects (600 marks)

5.   Allocation Groups Of Central Superior Services (CSS) 

CSS Exam conducted by FPSC includes the following groups:

  1. Pakistan Administrative Service – PAS (formerly District Management Group – DMG)
  2. Police Service of Pakistan – PSP
  3. Pakistan Customs Services – PCS
  4. Commerce & Trade Group – PCG
  5. Foreign Service of Pakistan – FSP
  6. Inland Revenue Service of Pakistan – IRS
  7. Information Services of Pakistan – ISP
  8. Military Lands & Cantonment Group – MLCG
  9. Office Management & Secretariat Group – OMG
  10. Pakistan Audit & Accounts Service – PA&AS
  11. Postal Group – PG
  12. Railways (Commercial & Transport) Group – RCTG

6.   Registration 

Registration fee is Rs. 2,200/-. Registration is online from (1st – 30th October).

7.  Examination Month 

February of each year.

8. How many subjects do I need to choose?
Subjects carrying 600 marks are compulsory while you have to choose subjects carrying 600 marks among optional subjects

9. How many attempts can I make?

You can make not more than three (03) attempts for the CSS exam. 

Check More From Student Guide

10. How should I select the subject?

For subject selection, keep in mind the following points:

  • Try to have the subjects that you have studied before.
  • Don’t ever go for “that easy subject”, try to find out its scoring value.
  • Previous statistics show that subjects with 100 marks give more score than subjects with 200 marks.
  • Science subjects are more scoring than their arts counterparts.
  • People even have scored 2 marks in some subjects like Constitutional Law because they thought it was too easy.
  • Languages are usually high scoring subjects.
  • Indo-Pak History does not usually result in a high score–avoiding it as generally helpful.
  • However, other history subjects have better scoring averages.
About The Author

No Comment.